Philanthropy and Fundraising Symposium - #SYM28


Keynote: Alan Hassenfeld

Breaking 2%: Kim Laughton

Organized by Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy

Dwight Burlingame, Glenn Family Chair in Philanthropy and Professor of Philanthropic Studies

Tim Seiler, Rosso Fellow in Philanthropic Fundraising and Clinical Professor of Philanthropic Studies

The Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy annual symposium will bring together philanthropy, fundraising and nonprofit professionals for an interactive and reflective look at what we know and what we need to know.

Symposium Keynote Speaker:
Alan Hassenfeld

Keynote Topic: Philanthropic Leadership for Social Impact

Indianapolis Skyline
Alan Hassenfeld, international business leader and philanthropist, is the former Chairman of the Board and present Chairman of the Executive Committee of Hasbro, Inc. a multi-billion dollar international toy company. Under his leadership, Hasbro has become a worldwide leader in children’s and family entertainment. Its brands and products are some of the most recognizable and respected throughout the world. Alan is a business leader with a passion for philanthropy. His far-reaching impact has crossed local, regional, national, and international borders. Read More >>

Add your voice to the conversation before and after the event. Follow @IUPhilanthropy on Twitter and use the hashtag #SYMP28

Questions? Contact Nancy Bell at

Rosso Medal Dinner; Distinguished Alumni Award

Edith Falk and Lilya Wagner were recipients of the 2015 Henry A. Rosso Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Ethical Fundraising at the Rosso Medal dinner on October 29 in Indianapolis. We also honored Genevieve G. Shaker, Ph.D., as the inaugural recipient of the Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy Distinguished Alumni Award.


The Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy symposium would not be possible without the support of our sponsoring partners. We are grateful to partner with organizations who are valuable contributors to our community and supporters of philanthropic studies and the nonprofit sector.